My Experience at MLH-Local Hack Day:Share

My Experience at MLH-Local Hack Day:Share

MLH | Projects | Experience | Fun

Hello, All

Welcome back. Today, I had come up to share my first-time experience I had with MLH-Local Hack Day Share. By the way, this is not a technical post but I'm sure you will enjoy my journey as much as I did.

If you're wondering what it is about or you are hearing this term for the first just head to this page. So, let's elaborate this further.

Major League Hacking is an abbreviation of MLH. It's a hacker community and mission driven organization to empower hackers. They conduct weekend and weeklong competitions, teach skills and inspire innovations though various programs.

👇Local Hack Day: Share is a week-long celebration full of activities, learning, workshops, tasks and many more to celebrate hacking together. It's open for everyone be it a first-timer or member, be it a professional or newbie. There are ton of challenges to conquer from a beginner friendly to pro from a pick of technical, design and social challenges. As theme mentions, sharing is caring. It emphasis more of collaborations and growing together as a community.

LocalHackDay (1).jpg

One fine day, I had come across a random post on LinkedIn which says about this hackathon and referral link to join. I had no clue of it, neither I did know about it earlier. Out of curiosity, I had checked the webpage shared and in the first look all I did notice was Ellie, the Elephant. That instantly stamped my interest to register and give this a try.

👨‍💻As a part of the registration, I had to choose a guild community to join. I was neither into open source by then but wanted to dig somehow. I have seen few Eddie Jaoude videos on opensource and also about being supportive through the posts I get from my networking community. With little familiarity, I hesitatingly picked EddieHub and had become an official guild member of it.

Community was so welcoming and inclusive for a first timer like me. As it says, Collaboration first and Code second. This week long event had begun with wide range of challenges which were quite exciting and fun to build them. MLH had as well organized many hands-on sesions and workshops to get our hands dirty to add up the learning opportunity to hackers who are not familiar with tech stacks.

🎯My Assets

I had filled my bag with lots of assets to share. Few were challenging, few were fun but enthusiasm from the community was always high to give our best and support each other. All ready to glance my assets? Let's color this blog post with some of them.

Share Coffee with Guild

Having a call with guild community, interacting and sharing knowledge with all these wonderful people was less of a task but more of a fun. One such highlight is to know guild members on a personal front. Felt thrilled to have joined.

MLH Share your cofee with Guild.png

Create Brand Concept

Created a brand concept for my community EddieHub.

MLH Eddie Hub Create a Brand Concept.gif

Cook a Meal

Are you hungry? Looks yummy? Guess the dish.

MLH Cook a Meal.jpg

Bob Ross

Note : Don't mind my drawing. It looks funny but obviously an asset. Theme I've choosen is kite festival.

MLH MS Paint Bob Ross.jpg

Create Infographic

Do you like coffee? Then this is for you to know some interesting things on it.

MLH Create Infographic.jpg

There are many more such assets which isn't accessible to showcase in this blog post. But no worries, you can find them all in my repository. It might be interest to know that I had also created a Travel Brochure and planned a Business.

Not to forget, the projects I had done was an immense learning phase overall to implement them through applications. It helped me shape into a better developer with team work and collaborations. I had caught an eyes on lots of new technical skills and domain which I wouldn't have done if not taken this opportunity. My Projects can be found in my DevPost page.

🚀Leaderboard

After a tiring week of challenges and contributions, it feels so nice to be in #50th position. I know i had given my best though there were lot more unfinished tasks to do. Irrespective of scores, that was one of the most productive week.

Leaderboard.png

👀Appreciation Certificate from EddieHub

When your work and contributions are recognized after all the efforts you had given, that adds a sense of satisfaction of how meaningful was the journey. It was a surprise bomb to my mail.

EddieHub Guild Member Certificate of Participation.jpg

💭Things I had come across in my MLH Journey

  • Ryan and Mary, the organizers of this event had done an incredible job. The main purpose was to encourage more and more hackers to come forward and do their contributions. They also made sure participants are empowered in a right way.
  • Irrespective of guild community they belong, all are willing to help, guide and answer your queries.
  • It actually didn't look like a competition but a learning experience where hackers nurture and grow together.
  • You get better in collaborations and communication. This event helped me in knowing the importance of github and opensource.
  • You work as a team and support your guild. Diverse ideas comes together to form a worthy project.

This experience had been possible with all the nicest decisions taken together that turned into a wonderful moment to remember. Special thanks to Major League Hacking and EddieHub community.

I hope you enjoyed my experience. Drop me your comments, like and do share your valuable feedback. I would be happy to know about the things you liked the most or fascinated you.

Thanks for reading, I would like to connect with you on Twitter | LinkedIn.🤝🏻

📖You should surely checkout my other blogs:

See you in my next article, Take care!