My recent Open Source Project

My recent Open Source Project

OpenSource | IoT | SmartConnectivity | Projects

Hello, All.

This blog post is written after a motivational session taken by Samson Goddy on growing with Open Source and is for Task6 of #HashnodeBootcamp.

In this article, I'll give a small talk about the open source project I had created recently. From my previous posts or through social media handles, you all might be knowing of how fond I'm with IoT. That was the main triggering point to how project got started. You can find a detailed project on how it works and can apply to real case scenarios in my future posts on "Internet of Things" Series.

So let's get started and come to the point.

The open source project which I had started recently is 'Smart Drain'

The main reason to start this project was to provide a solution to the most common problem I see. Especially in monsoons and floods, it gets difficult to detect missing manhole lids due to zero visibility. That's troublesome for all. So here I've used Arduino Uno, GSM module and Sensors. Sensors are used for detection and information is sent periodically to the respective authorities to take timely action. It also helps in preventing the drains from overflowing. Additional features will be added up in future to make it more smart.

I believe open source is all about learning and growing with each other. It boosts our productivity and makes us support and contribute for a good purpose. Collaboration first and Code second. That's the most amazing thing about open source. I've created other repository of 'Python Scripts' to support contributions from fellow developers for which I had started getting responses about their interest on it. In future, I will come up with many such open source projects that adds value to all.

OpenSource.jpg

Contributions to any of these repositories are most welcome.

If any of my projects interests you or any queries, feel free to like, share and drop your comments below. Do check them out and share your valuable feedbacks. This blog post will be updated timely. Thanks for reading.

I would love to connect with you on Twitter | LinkedIn.🤝🏻

📖You should definitely check out my other Blogs:

See you in my next article, Take care.